top of page
bassboy_top_front_grade.png

TWS Bass Boy

All-Tube. For modern Bass Players. Finally.

 

"Why isn't there an all-tube bass amp which suits the demands of studios and smaller venues of our days?"

This is one of the most frequently asked questions that we have been asked since Tube WorkShop was founded.

 

We cannot answer that question, but we can say: It's here now. The Tube WorkShop BassBoy!

 

Even if our BassBoy is a completely new development, it is inspired by the legendary Ampeg B-15. This studio icon shaped the bass sounds of of a whole era. With a power amp switch between 30W Cathode Bias (like the 60s models) or the 50W in Class A/B mode of the 70s models of the B-15, the BassBoy does justice to both decades.

 

The legendary Baxandall tone control, specially developed for bass applications, has been completely revised and, with the new "Character" control, offers complex access to the important mid-range spectrum. This allows the BassBoy to switch effortlessly between traditional (rather aggressive) bass sounds and modern, tidy sounds.

guitar_logo_black.png

guitar 09/2023

"So why aren't there "small" tube amps for bass? This is a question that worries me and no doubt many other bassists as well. Mario Gebhardt, the mastermind behind Tube WorkShop, has taken our cue and designed the BassBoy, a 50-watt tube amp for bass, which is intended to close this gap on the market.​ [...].  The BassBoy is (once again) a heavy hit from TubeWorkShop. With its compact format , it covers all needs of the High-End community and fills a real gap in the market." 

GuB_Logo_black.png

Guitar & Bass 01/2024

"There are other candidates for pure power and analytically clear playback, that should be clear to everyone who is looking for good tube sound. There is plenty of it here and in a quality and flexibility that is second to none. Even at low volumes it has Tone is addictive, when turned up the desired saturation comes into play in a very pleasant way. The easy-to-use preamplifier offers a cornucopia of sounds; everything I fed to the combination was not only reproduced with all the advantages of good tube sounds, but could also be refined with a strong character. "

bassboy_top_front_detail_1_full.jpg

Quality

handmade in Germany.

Every BassBoy is handcrafted in Leingarten (D) and wired point-to-point with the shortest signal paths. All connections are soldered (no connectors) to permanently prevent loose contacts and contact resistance.

 

The massive (2mm thick) aluminum chassis carries only hand-picked premium components as well as the highest quality transformers and an "over-designed" power supply for maximum durability. Only the best is good enough for us.

The mechanical installation of all components is completely decoupled from the electrical connections. Jacks, pots and tube bases do not exert any forces on the electrical connections that could lead to broken solder joints over time.

 

An extremely robust housing made of solid 18mm pine multiplex gives the BassBoy a high level of roadworthiness and at the same time is very easy to transport thanks to the generous carrying handle. Of course, the housing is handmade in Germany.

bassboy_top_moneyshot.jpg
bassboy_top_gut_shot_detail.jpg
guitar_logo_black.png

guitar 09/2023

"Mario doesn't skimp when it comes to craftsmanship. For the price asked, you should be able to expect that, but the expectation is undoubtedly fulfilled!"

GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Guitar & Bass 01/2024

"I don't know how you feel, but looking at a circuit that has been accurately built by hand with the best components and soldered point-to-point makes me feel happy. You look for circuit boards in vain, but the components, cable routing and workmanship are leave no doubt about the claim to deliver the finest here. This looks extremely promising and is also service-friendly."

bassboy_top_front_detail_2.jpg
bassboy_sound control.png

Tone Control

3 knobs. From "modern" to "vintage".

Normally, bass players are used  to be "left alone" with a flood of controls in order to somehow tinker heir "desired sound". At TWS, we wanted it to be more simple and more practical... with fewer controls!

 

Based on the classic Baxandall tone control, which works very efficiently on the bass and treble range, we invented the "Character" control, which controls the important mid-range in a multi-layered manner".

 

With the character controller you can continuously fade back and forth between a more "modern" and a "vintage-oriented" sound. "Modern" brings a very contoured and tidy bass sound, which is also ideal for slapping. "Vintage" results in a dense and assertive midrange, as we know it from countless recordings.

 

The "Character" control does much more than just boost or cut a specific center frequency. Rather, both the center frequency, the bandwidth and the boost/cut are continuously altered over the entire control range.

 

We can proudly say that this tone control is pretty unique!

_guitar_logo_white.png

guitar09/2023

"When it comes to tone control, we're not simply dealing with a classic 3-band EQ. As with the Ampeg model, the BassBoy has a Baxandall tone control. [...] But what's the deal with the controller in the middle? Instead of "Mids" it says "Character" and in fact Mario has incorporated a technically complex but very simple control, that determines the tonal orientation of the amplifier. On the left side you counteract a modern, tidy bass sound that tends to be clear, while the right side is dedicated to growling, dedicated vintage sounds."

GuB_Logo_white.png

Guitar & Bass 01/2024

"Gain and master regulate the input and output volume, and there is also a three-band tone control. It can be that simple! But it's not quite that simple. [...] Wedt the tone controls make it easy to emphasize the character even more or to adapt the sound to the room and personal taste. Even larger sound changes are possible. This is where the mid control shines, as it supports an astonishing slap tone when turned all the way to the left, while at the other end it brings the mids into focus across a broad spectrum while at the same time reducing the highs quite a bit. The complexity with which it is regulated here - simultaneous processing of frequency, filter quality, boosting, cutting - can be heard in a complex sound image; it couldn't be simpler and more uncomplicated to operate."

Preamp & Ultra Bright

full controll over distorted sounds.

The TWS BassBoy was specially developed to also deliver the sought-after distorted tube bass sounds.

 

This is achieved through a finely tuned combination of the Preamp control (= gain) and the "Ultra Bright" function, which can be activated by "pulling" the knob. 

 

In addition to the fact that the "Ultra-Bright" function can also be used to bring very dull-sounding basses back to life, this function is the "weapon of choice" when playing with a pick in order to explore the multi-layered world of the distorted tube bass sounds. Ultra-bright, character directed to "vintage", reduce bass and treble a bit... and Motörhead Rules.

 

Have fun with it!

bassboy_animation_pull_ultra_high.gif
guitar_logo_black.png

guitar 09/2023

"The degree of distortion can be finely controlled via the Preamp-Knob. The spectrum ranges from a clean, but always warm sound, to a wonderfully dynamic crunch sound that, depending on intensity of playing, sounds either clean or beautifully grumpy. Up to a rough tube distortion sound that makes the faces of Black Sabbath and Motörhead fans smile. With a pull on the preamp control, the "ultra bright function" is activated, which gives the signal additional clarity and highs."

GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Guitar & Bass 01/2024

"With maximum mids on the amp it gets the Spector Ethos imposes an almost classic, round sound with plenty of growl. The treble control on the amp is only slightly effective even when turned up to full capacity - but there is also the bright switch on the volume control, and that brings the brilliance back in one fell swoop. It has just as big an effect on distorted sounds. They almost come naturally, because despite all the flexibility of the preamplifier, the power of the power amplifier is limited, which is part of the fun. With higher gain in the preamp or higher load on the power amp, a rich growl is achieved, which can be pushed up to tube-like distortion with even more gain and the post-phase inverter master extended."

bassboy_top_back_detail_DI_close.png

DI Out

Transformer balanced. What else?

Every good bass amp needs a balanced XLR DI out.

 

Even if miking the bass box is the "more meaningful" variant, the XLR DI-Out has established itself as a fixed "connection standard" for bass amps.

 

Of course, it is also available within the TWS BassBoy. And of course we have installed the highest quality variant for you. Transformer balanced with first-class components, and of course it has a GND lift switch to prevent ground loops.

GuB_Logo_white.png

Guitar & Bass 01/2024

"TWS sees the best way to record the amp live or in the studio by using a microphone, but the DI standard should still not be missing and should then be as good as possible, namely transformer balanced with the best transformer. Groundlift takes care of any hum loops."

bassboy_fullstack_im_studio_v02_4k.jpg

Master & Power

Contemporary, with options from the 60's and 70's.

Gone are the days when you had to cover the whole concert hall with 300W tube amps and huge 8x10 speaker cabinets.

 

Today, we are happy to leave applications that require "pure power" to the well-assorted field of Class-D amplifiers. 

 

In our opinion, 50 "tube watts" represent the "sweet spot" in order to have sufficient headroom in most applications and to be able to fully enjoy the coveted dynamic tube sound.

 

In order to perfectly set this to your personal needs, the TWS BassBoy has a PPIMV master volume that controls the volume at the latest possible point (i.e. directly before the power amp) and only minimally influences the overall sound of the amp.

 

But that's not enough for us.

With the 50W/30 switch on the back of the BassBoy, the behavior of the power amp can be switched between the early B-15's with "Cathode Bias" (approx. 30W) and the later B-15's (with approx. 50W Class A/B and toggle "Fixed Bias").

 

The volume differences are rather marginal. With a "fully cranked" TWS BassBoy, however when fully cranking the amp, you will appreciate the differences, where the 30W Cathode Biased option reaches saturation much earlier than the more stable Class A/B variant from the 70s.

bassboy_master2.jpg
bassboy_top_back_power.png
GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Guitar & Bass 01/2024

"The bias switch selects between two methods of determining the operating point of the power amplifier tubes, which result in different output lines. Differences that the Ampeg models also had at certain times in their history. [...] The response is in 30-watt mode "sweeter", here the power amplifier is operated with cathode bias like the B-15 flip tops until the mid-60s, the mode with fixed bias, borrowed from the 70s B-15, brings the power to 50 watts and remains more stable. "

tolex.jpg
bassboy_top_front_grade.png
bassboy_top_back_grade.png

Technical Specs

and specifics.

  • Handcrafted in Germany

  • Shortest signal paths. Best components. No connectors.

  • 50W Class A/B / 30W Cathode Bias, switchable

  • 2x 6L6 power tubes

  • 1x 6SL7 preamp tube

  • 1x 6SL7 Paraphase Phase Inverter

  • GZ34 rectifier tube

  • Post Phase Inverter Master Volume (PPIMV)

  • Preamp (gain) control with "Ultra-Bright" function

  • 3-band tone control with bass, treble and character controls

  • 4/8/16 ohm speaker impedance selector switch

  • Transformer-balanced DI-Out (XLR) with GND-Lift switch

  • Dimensions: WxHxD = 530 x 260 x 260 mm

  • Weight: 14 kg

Price

TWS BassBoy top: RRP €3,299

 

Or contact us personally:

info(at)tube-workshop.de

You can also get all of our products from:

Thomann_Logo_mit claim.png
bassboy_top_front_schraeg.png
bassboy_top_rueck_schraeg.png
_guitar_logo_white.png

guitar 09/2023

"The price asked is definitely proud, but absolutely justified in view of what is on offer. Who can afford it, and is looking for the bass amp for a "lifetime", you should take a closer look and listen to the BassBoy."

GuB_Logo_weiss.png

Guitar & Bass 01/2024

"You don't have to pay a lot of money for this, but the quality in every respect justifies it for me, especially since there are few alternatives. If you have the opportunity, definitely play!”

TWS 1x12 Bass Cab

"Small" speakers can sound "Big"...

To match the TWS-BassBoy, we decided on a compact but fully-fledged bass speaker with 1x12 full-range equipment.

 

An additional tweeter was deliberately omitted in order to achieve a lively but never cool or sterile sounding treble range in combination with the BassBoy. 

 

The decisive factor was the construction made of 15 mm birch multiplex in a closed housing with a well-coordinated bass reflex opening on the front. This creates a consistent sound across all frequency ranges. The TWS 1x12 bass box is both balanced and very powerful with the smallest possible dimensions.

  • Handbuilt in Germany

  • Standard equipment: 1x12" Eminence Kappa-12A speaker

  • Load capacity: 450 W

  • Impedance: 8 ohms

  • Housing and baffle made of 15 mm birch multiplex

  • Closed housing with bass reflex opening on the front

  • Generous carrying handle

  • Dimensions (W x H x D): 595 x 400 x 300 mm

  • Weight: 15.5kg

  • Cover: Black Tolex

  • Front covering: Black/Silver

bassboy_box_front_schraeg.png
bassboy_box_rueck_schraeg.png
bassboy_fullstack_schraeg.png

Price

TWS 1x12 Bass Cab: RRP €1,099

Available from November 2023

Or contact us personally:

info(at)tube-workshop.de

You can also get all of our products from:

Thomann_Logo_mit claim.png
guitar_logo_black.png

guitar 09/2023

"The TWS 1x12 bass cab has a practical format, a birch multiplex housing and is equipped with a 12" Eminence Kappa 12A speaker. The cab reacts very directly, reproduces the warm amp sound excellently and is even not a heavyweight at 15.5 kilograms. If you want it even lighter, you can also have your TWS cab equipped with a Jensen Bass Smooth Neodymium upon request."

GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Guitar & Bass 01/2024

"The associated box keeps up with the top in terms of appearance and quality. [...]. The Eminence Kappa-12A twelve-inch speaker is very modern and can be loaded with a maximum of 450 watts. The Jensen Bass Smooth is optionally available, thanks to neodymium lighter, yet smoother in tone. [...]

 

Not only does the box go down far enough to convincingly play the low B string, but also the ultra-modern sound design of an Spectors is superbly hit and strengthened."

Speakers

Power or Lightweight?

Kappa_12A_1024x1024.png
Jensen_Bass Smooth_12.png

Our Standard: Eminence Kappa-12A

A legend among 12'' bass speakers. Heavily built, high efficiency. Extremely "direct" and very balanced. This speaker literally "jumps" at you and sonically "pushes" you in every situation. Within the best speakers you can get...

Lightweight Alternative: Jensen Bass Smooth 12

- Free of charge -

The Jensen Bass Smooth offers a very clear and differentiated sound with a weight of only 2.5 kg.

We recommend this speaker for all applications where low weight is more important than maximum sound pressure and power.

Tailored TWS Covers

keep the fun going...

TWS Protective Cases Top & Box

Of course, the best thing for your darling would be a flight case. But that's where things get big and difficult. And when you're not on a world tour, a good protective case is the perfect and affordable everyday companion.

  • Handmade in Germany

  • Custom made to fit the TWS BssBoy

  • Tailored to fit the TWS 1x12 bass box

  • Perfectly sewn imitation leather protective cover in leather look with sewn-on TWS logo

  • The protective cover is padded and splash-proof. It protects against knocks during transport and also against fading (UV protection) and dust.

  • Thanks to the neatly incorporated handle recesses, the amp and box can still be transported without any problems.

Price BassBoy Top protective cover: 69,-€

Price TWS 1x12 Bass Cab protective cover: 79,-€

Pictures, pictures, pictures

Tell more than 1000 words.

bottom of page

top of page
bassboy_top_front_grade.png

TWS BassBoy

Voll-Röhre für moderne Bassisten. Endlich.

 

"Warum gibt es eigentlich keinen Vollröhren-Bass-Amp mit praxisgerechter Leistung für Studios und kleinere Locations?"

Das ist eine der häufigsten Fragen, die uns seit Bestehen des Tube WorkShops gestellt wird.

 

Wir können diese Frage nicht beantworten, aber wir können sagen: Jetzt gibt es ihn. Den Tube WorkShop BassBoy!

 

Auch wenn unser BassBoy eine komplette Neuentwicklung ist, so ist er doch vom legendären Ampeg B-15 inspiriert. Schließlich hat diese Studio-Ikone den Bass-Sound einer ganzen Ära geprägt. Mit einer Endstufenumschaltung zwischen 30W Cathode Bias (wie bei den 60er Modellen) oder den 50W im Class A/B Modus der 70er Modelle des B-15 wird der BassBoy beiden Epochen gerecht.

 

Die legendäre, speziell für Bassanwendungen entwickelte Baxandall-Klangregelung wurde komplett überarbeitet und bietet mit dem neuartigen "Character"-Regler einen komplexen Zugriff auf das wichtige Mittenspektrum. Damit kann der BassBoy mühelos zwischen traditionellen (eher aggressiven) Basssounds und modernen, aufgeräumten Sounds wechseln.

guitar_logo_schwarz.png

guitar 09/2023

"Warum also gibt es keine „kleinen“ Röhrenamps für Bass? Das ist eine Frage, die mich und zweifellos auch viele andere Bassisten beschäftigt. Mario Gebhardt, das Mastermind hinter Tube WorkShop, hat sich unser angenommen und mit dem BassBoy kurzerhand einen 50 Watt starken Röhrenamp für Bass entworfen, der genau diese klaffende Marktlücke schließen soll.​ [...]. Der BassBoy ist (wieder einmal) ein konzeptioneller Volltreffer aus dem Hause Tube WorkShop. Er deckt mit seinem kompakten Format und der gleichzeitigen High-End-Ausrichtung eine echte Marktlücke ab." 

GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Gitarre&Bass 01/2024

"Für reine Leistung und analytisch-klare Wiedergabe gibt es andere Kandidaten, das dürfte eh allen klar sein, die den guten Röhrenton suchen. Den gibt es hier, reichlich und in einer Qualität und Flexibilität, die ihresgleichen sucht. Schon bei geringer Lautstärke hat der Ton Suchtpotenzial, aufgedreht kommt die gesuchte Sättigung angenehmst ins Spiel. Die einfach zu bedienende Vorstufe bietet ein Cornucopia an Sounds; alles, was ich der Kombi gefüttert habe, wurde nicht nur mit allen Vorteilen guter Röhrensounds wiedergegeben, sondern ließ sich auch noch charakterstark verfeinern." Hier könnt Ihr den vollen Artikel lesen.

bassboy_top_front_detail_1_full.jpg

Qualität

handmade in Germany.

Jeder BassBoy wird in Leingarten (D) in Handarbeit gefertigt und mit kürzesten Signalwegen Punkt-zu-Punkt von Hand verdrahtet. Alle Verbindungen werden verlötet (keine Steckverbinder), um Wackelkontakte und Übergangswiderstände dauerhaft auszuschließen.

 

Das massive (2 mm dicke) Aluminium-Chassis beherbergt nur handverlesene Premium-Bauteile sowie hochwertigste Transformatoren und ein "over-designed" Netzteil für maximale Langlebigkeit. Nur das Beste ist uns gut genug.

Der mechanische Einbau aller Komponenten ist komplett von den elektrischen Verbindungen entkoppelt. Buchsen, Potis und Röhrensockel üben keinerlei Kräfte auf die elektrischen Verbindungen aus, die mit der Zeit zu gebrochenen Lötstellen führen könnten.

 

Ein extrem robustes Gehäuse aus massivem 18 mm Kiefer Multiplex verleiht dem BassBoy eine hohe Roadtauglichkeit und ist gleichzeitig durch den großzügigen Tragegriff sehr transportfreundlich. Selbstverständlich wird das Gehäuse in Deutschland handgefertigt.

bassboy_top_moneyshot.jpg
bassboy_top_gut_shot_detail.jpg
guitar_logo_schwarz.png

guitar 09/2023

"In Sachen Verarbeitung lässt sich Mario nicht lumpen - für den aufgerufenen Preis sollte man das zwar erwarten dürfen, die Erwartung wird jedoch ohne Frage erfüllt!"

GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Gitarre&Bass 01/2024

"Keine Ahnung, wie es euch geht, aber der Blick in eine so mit besten Bauteilen akkurat von Hand aufgebaute und Point-to-Point verlötete Schaltung löst Glücksgefühle in mir aus. Platinen sucht man vergebens, dafür Bauteile, Leitungsführung, und Verarbeitung, die keinen Zweifel am Anspruch lassen, hier vom feinsten abzuliefern. Das sieht extrem vielversprechend aus, und ist zudem servicefreundlich."

bassboy_top_front_detail_2.jpg
bassboy_klangregelung.png

Klangregelung

3 Regler. Von "Modern" bis "Vintage".

Normalerweise werden Bassisten gerne mit einer Flut von Reglern "allein gelassen", um sich ihren "Wunschsound" irgendwie zusammenzubasteln. Wir von TWS wollten es einfacher und praxisgerechter haben - mit weniger Reglern!

 

Ausgehend von der klassischen Baxandall-Klangregelung, die sehr gezielt den Bass- und Höhenbereich bearbeitet, haben wir den "Character"-Regler erfunden, der vielschichtig den wichtigen Mittenbereich bearbeitet.

 

Mit dem Character-Regler kann man stufenlos zwischen einem eher "modernen" und einem "vintage-orientierten" Sound hin- und herblenden. "Modern" beschert einen sehr konturierten und aufgeräumten Bass-Sound, der sich auch hervorragend zum Slappen eignet. "Vintage" ergibt einen dichten und durchsetzungsfähigen Mittenbereich, wie wir ihn von unzähligen Aufnahmen kennen.

 

Der "Character"-Regler bewirkt weit mehr als nur das Anheben oder Absenken einer bestimmten Mittenfrequenz. Vielmehr werden sowohl die Einsatzfrequenz, die Bandbreite als auch die Anhebung/Absenkung über den gesamten Regelweg kontinuierlich verändert.

 

Mit Stolz können wir sagen, dass diese Klangregelung wohl einzigartig ist!

_guitar_logo_white.png

guitar 09/2023

"Auch bei der Tonregelung haben wir es nicht einfach mit einem klassischen 3-Band-EQ zu tun. Wie beim Vorbild von Ampeg hat der BassBoy eine Baxandall-Klangregelung. [...] Doch was hat es dann mit dem Regler in der Mitte auf sich? Statt „Mids“ steht hier „Character“ und tatsächlich hat Mario hier einen technisch komplexen aber in der Anwendung sehr simplen Regelweg untergebracht, der die klangliche Ausrichtung des Verstärkers bestimmt. Auf der linken Seite steuert man einem modernen, aufgeräumten, tendenziell klaren Bass-Sound entgegen, während sich die rechte Seite knurrigen, durchsetzungsfähigen Vintage-Sounds verschrieben hat."

GuB_Logo_weiss.png

Gitarre&Bass 01/2024

"Gain und Master regeln Eingangs- und Ausgangslautstärke, dazu gibt es eine Dreiband-Klangregelung. So einfach kann das sein! Aber ganz so simpel ist es dann doch nicht. [...] Mit den Klangreglern ist es ein leichtes, den Charakter noch mehr herauszustellen oder den Sound an Raum und persönlichen Geschmack anzupassen. Auch gröbere Klangveränderungen sind machbar. Da glänzt der Mittenregler, der auf Linksanschlag einen erstaunlichen Slapton unterstützt, am anderen Ende die Mitten breitbandig in den Fokus rückt und dabei die Höhen ziemlich zurücknimmt. Die Komplexität, mit der hier geregelt wird - gleichzeitige Bearbeitung von Frequenz, Filtergüte, Anhebung, Absenkung - hört man in einem komplexen Klangbild, in der Bedienung könnte es nicht einfacher und unkomplizierter sein."

Preamp & Ultra-High

Volle Kontrolle über angezerrte Sounds.

Der TWS BassBoy wurde speziell entwickelt, um auch die begehrten angezerrten Röhren Bass-Sounds zu liefern.

 

Dies wird durch eine fein abgestimmte Kombination des Preamp-Reglers (= Gain) und der durch Ziehen am Regler aktivierbaren "Ultra-High"-Funktion erreicht. "Ultra-High" ist kein Gain-Boost, sondern ein fein angestimmter Treble-Boost. Unsere Schaltung unterscheidet sich zwar vom originalen "Ultra-High" im Ampeg B-15, aber aus nostalgischen Gründen haben wir die Bezeichnung beibehalten,

Neben der Tatsache, dass mit der "Ultra-High"-Funktion auch sehr dumpf klingende Bässe wieder zum Leben erweckt werden können, ist diese Funktion die "Waffe der Wahl", wenn man mit dem Plektrum spielt und mit dem BassBoy in die vielschichtige Welt der angezerrten Röhrenbass-Sounds eintauchen möchte. Ultra-High "On", Charakter in Richtung "Vintage", Bässe und Höhen etwas zurücknehmen - und Motörhead Rules.

 

Viel Spaß damit!

bassboy_animation_pull_ultra_high.gif
guitar_logo_schwarz.png

guitar 09/2023

"Über den Preamp-Regler lässt sich der Zerrgrad des Signals kontrollieren. Das Spektrum reicht hier von einem cleanen, aber dennoch immer warmen Sound, über einen wunderbar dynamischen Crunch-Sound, der je nach Anschlagsstärke entweder clean oder schön brummig ertönt, bis hin zu einem derben Röhrenzerrsound, der Fans von Black Sabbath und Motörhead ein Lächeln auf das Gesicht zaubern dürfte. Mit einem Zug am Preamp-Regler, wird die „Ultra-Bright- Funktion“ aktiviert, die dem Signal zusätzliche Klarheit und Höhen spendiert."

GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Gitarre&Bass 01/2024

"Mit maximalen Mitten am Amp bekommt der Spector Ethos ein annähernd klassisch-rundes Klangbild mit reichlich Growl übergestülpt. Der Höhenregler am Amp ist da selbst voll aufgedreht nur noch wenig wirksam - aber es gibt ja noch den Bright-Schalter am Volumenregler, und der bringt die Brillanz auf einen Schlag wieder zurück. Ebenso große Wirkung hat er auf Zerrsounds. Die kommen fast von selbst, denn bei aller Flexibilität der Vorstufe ist die Leistung der Endstufe begrenzt, was den Spaß mit ausmacht. Mit höherem Gain in der Vorstufe oder höherer Auslastung der Endstufe kommt ein sattes Knurren zustande, das sich mit noch mehr Gain und ausgefahrenem Post-Phase-Inverter Master bis zu röhriger Distortion treiben lässt."

bassboy_top_rueck_detail_DI_close.png
GuB_Logo_weiss.png

Gitarre&Bass 01/2024

"Als Königsweg, den Amp live oder im Studio abzunehmen, sieht TWS die Abnahme der Box per Mikrofon an, aber der DI-Standard soll trotzdem nicht fehlen, und dann so gut sein wie möglich, nämlich trafosymmetriert mit bestem Übertrager. Groundlift kümmert sich um eventuelle Brummschleifen."

DI-Out

Trafosymmetrisch. Was sonst?

Jeder gute Bass-Amp braucht einen symmetrischen XLR DI-Out.

 

Auch wenn die Mikrofonierung der Bassbox die "aussagekräftigere" Variante ist, hat sich der XLR DI-Out als fester Anschluss-Standard bei Bass-Amps etabliert.

 

Natürlich gibt es ihn auch beim TWS BassBoy. Und natürlich haben wir für Euch die hochwertigste Variante verbaut. Diese ist trafosymmetrisch mit einem erstklassigen Übertrager und hat selbstverständlich einen GND-Lift-Schalter, um Masseschleifen zu verhindern.

Der DI-Out beim TWS BassBoy ist absolut "pur" und nicht frequenzkorrigiert, um Euch die maximale Freiheit bei der Weiterverarbeitung des Signals zu ermöglichen. Speziell wenn der BassBoy verzerrt betrieben wird, empfehlen wir die Verwendung eines IR-Loaders mit Euren Lieblings Cab-Sims da hier der Speaker-Sound einen sehr großen Einfluss hat.

Oder ihr macht es einfach ganz klassisch: Mikro vor die Box 

"What you hear is what you get!"

bassboy_fullstack_im_studio_v02_4k.jpg

Master & Power

Zeitgemäß, mit Optionen der 60's und 70's.

Vorbei sind die Zeiten, in denen man mit 300 W Röhrenboliden und riesigen 8x10er Boxen den ganzen Saal beschallen musste.

 

Anwendungen, bei denen es auf "pure Power" ankommt, überlassen wir heute gerne dem gut sortierten Feld der Class-D-Verstärker. 

 

50 "Röhrenwatt" stellen unserer Meinung nach den "Sweet-Spot" dar, um in den allermeisten Anwendungen genügend Lautstärkereserven zu haben und den begehrten dynamischen Röhrensound voll auskosten zu können.

 

Um dies für sich persönlich optimal einstellen zu können, gibt es im TWS BassBoy einen PPIMV Master-Volume, der die Lautstärke an der spätmöglichsten Stelle (nämlich direkt vor der Endstufe) regelt und den Gesamtsound des Amps nur minimal beeinflusst.

 

Aber das ist uns noch nicht genug.

Mit dem 50W/30W-Schalter auf der Rückseite des BassBoy lässt sich das Verhalten der Endstufe zwischen den frühen B-15's mit "Cathode Bias" (ca. 30 W) und den späteren B-15's (mit ca. 50 W Class A/B und "Fixed Bias") umschalten.

 

Die Lautstärkeunterschiede sind eher marginal. Bei einem "voll aufgedrehten" TWS BassBoy wird man aber die Unterschiede zu schätzen wissen, wo die 30 W Cathode Biased Variante deutlich früher in die gutmütige Sättigung geht als die stabilere Class A/B Variante aus den 70ern.

bassboy_master2.jpg
bassboy_top_rueck_power.png
GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Gitarre&Bass 01/2024

"Der Bias-Schalter wählt zwischen zwei Methoden, den Arbeitspunkt der Endstufenröhren festzulegen, und die unterschiedliche Ausgangsleitungen ergeben. Unterschiede, die auch die Ampeg-Vorbilder zu bestimmten Zeiten ihrer Historie aufwiesen. [...] Im 30-Watt Modus ist die Response “süßlicher”, hier wird die Endstufe mit Kathoden-Bias betrieben wie die B-15 Fliptops bis Mitte der 60er, der den 70er-Jahre B-15 entliehene Modus mit Fixed Bias bringt die Leistung auf 50 Watt und bleibt stabiler. "

tolex.jpg
bassboy_top_front_grade.png
bassboy_top_rueck_grade.png

Technische Daten

und Besonderheiten.

  • Hergestellt in Handarbeit in Deutschland

  • Kürzeste Signalwege. Beste Komponenten. Keine Steckverbinder.

  • 50 W Class A/B / 30 W Cathode Bias , umschaltbar

  • 2x 6L6 Endstufenröhren

  • 1x 6SL7 Vorstufenröhre

  • 1x 6SL7 Paraphase Phase Inverter

  • GZ34 Gleichrichterröhre

  • Post Phase Inverter Master Volume (PPIMV)

  • Preamp (Gain) Regler mit "Ultra-Bright" Funktion

  • 3-Band Klangregelung mit Bass, Treble und Character-Regler

  • 4/8/16 Ohm Speaker Impedanzwahlschalter

  • Trafosymmetrischer DI-Out (XLR) mit GND-Lift Schalter

  • Abmessungen: BxHxT = 530 x 260 x 260 mm

  • Gewicht: 14 kg

Preis

TWS BassBoy Topteil: UVP 3.299,-€

 

Oder setze Dich persönlich mit uns in Verbindung:

info(at)tube-workshop.de

Alle unsere Produkte bekommst Du auch bei:

Thomann_Logo_mit claim.png
bassboy_top_front_schraeg.png
bassboy_top_rueck_schraeg.png
_guitar_logo_white.png

guitar 09/2023

"Der aufgerufene Preis ist zwar definitiv stolz, in Anbetracht des Gebotenen aber dennoch gerechtfertigt. Wer das nötige Kleingeld

hat und auf der Suche nach dem Bass-Amp fürs Leben ist, sollte sich den BassBoy einmal genauer ansehen und -hören."

GuB_Logo_weiss.png

Gitarre&Bass 01/2024

"Dafür muss nicht eben wenig Geld bezahlt werden, aber die Qualität in jeder Hinsicht rechtfertigt das für mich, zumal wenig Alternativen auszumachen sind. Wer die Gelegenheit dazu hat: Unbedingt anspielen!"

TWS Bass-Boxen

Auch "kleine" Boxen klingen "groß"...

Passend zum TWS-BassBoy haben wir uns für eine kompakte, aber vollwertige Bassbox mit 1x12er Fullrange-Bestückung entschieden.

 

Auf einen zusätzlichen Hochtöner wurde bewusst verzichtet um in Kombination mit dem BassBoy einen lebendigen aber niemals kühl oder steril klingenden Hochtonbereich zu erhalten. 

 

Entscheidend war die Konstruktion aus 15 mm Birken-Multiplex in einem geschlossenen Gehäuse mit einer gut abgestimmten Bassreflexöffnung auf der Frontseite. Dadurch wird ein gleichmäßiges Klangbild über alle Frequenzbereiche erreicht. Die TWS 1x12er Bass-Box ist gleichermaßen ausgewogen, als auch sehr leistungsstark bei möglichst geringen Abmessungen.

  • Handbuilt in Germany

  • Standardbestückung: 1x12" Eminence Kappa-12A Speaker

  • Belastbarkeit: 450 W

  • Impedanz: 8 Ohm

  • Gehäuse und Schallwand aus 15 mm Birken-Multiplex

  • Geschlossenes Gehäuse mit Bassreflex-Öffnung frontseitig

  • Großzügiger Tragegriff

  • Abmessungen (B x H x T): 595 x 400 x 300 mm

  • Gewicht: 15,5 kg

  • Bezug: Schwarzes Tolex

  • Frontbespannung: Black/Silver

bassboy_box_front_schraeg.png
bassboy_box_rueck_schraeg.png
bassboy_fullstack_schraeg.png

Preis

TWS 1x12er Cab: UVP 1.099,-€

Lieferbar ab November 2023

Oder setze Dich persönlich mit uns in Verbindung:

info(at)tube-workshop.de

Alle unsere Produkte bekommst Du auch bei:

Thomann_Logo_mit claim.png
guitar_logo_schwarz.png

guitar 09/2023

"Die zugehörige Box hat ein praktisches Format, ein Gehäuse aus Birken-Multi- plex und ist mit einem 12“ Eminence-Speaker versehen. Die Box reagiert direkt, bildet den warmen Amp-Sound hervorragend ab und ist mit 15,5 Kilogramm auch kein Schwergewicht. Wer es noch etwas leichter will, kann seine TWS-Box auf Anfrage aber auch mit einem Jensen Bass Smooth Neodym bestücken lassen."

GuB_Logo_schwarz.png

Gitarre&Bass 01/2024

"Die zugehörige Box hält optisch wie qualitativ mit dem Top mit. [...]. Ganz modern ist der Eminence Kappa-12A Zwölfzoll-Speaker, der mit maximal 450 Watt belastet werden kann. Optional gibt es den Jensen Bass Smooth, dank Neodym leichter, dabei smoother im Ton. [...]

 

Nicht nur geht die Box weit genug runter, um auch die tiefe H-Saite überzeugend zu bringen, auch das ultra-moderne Sounddesign eines Spectors wird superb getroffen und gestärkt."

Speaker

Power oder Lightweight?

Kappa_12A_1024x1024.png
Jensen_Bass Smooth_12.png

Unser Standard: Eminence Kappa-12A

Eine Legende unter den 12'' Bass-Speakern. Heavy built, hoher Wirkungsgrad. Extrem "direkt" und sehr ausgewogen. Dieser Speaker "springt" dich förmlich an und bringt dich in jeder Situation maximal "nach Vorne". Mit das Beste was man bekommen kann!

Lightweight-Alternative: Jensen Bass Smooth 12

- Ohne Aufpreis -

Der Jensen Bass Smooth bietet ein sehr klares und differenziertes Klangbild bei einem Gewicht von nur 2,5 kg.

Für alle Anwendungen, bei denen geringes Gewicht wichtiger ist als maximaler Schalldruck und Durchsetzungsvermögen, empfehlen wir diesen Lautsprecher.

Maßgeschneiderte TWS-Schutzhüllen

damit der Spaß lange hält...

TWS Schutzhüllen Top & Box

Das Beste für deinen Liebling wäre natürlich ein Flightcase. Da wird die Sache aber meist groß und schwer. Und wenn man nicht gerade auf Welt-Tournee ist, dann ist eine gute Schutzhülle der perfekte und erschwingliche Begleiter im Alltag.

  • Handmade in Germany

  • Maßgeschneidert passend für den TWS BassBoy

  • Maßgeschneidert passend für die TWS 1x12 Bass-Box

  • Perfekt vernähter Kunstleder-Schutzbezug in Lederoptik mit aufgenähtem TWS-Logo

  • Die Schutzhülle ist gepolstert und spritzwassergeschützt. Sie schützt vor Schlägen beim Transport und auch vor Ausbleichen (UV-Schutz) und Staub.

  • Durch die sauber eingearbeiteten Griffaussparungen können Amp und Box weiterhin problemlos transportiert werden.

Preis BassBoy Topteil Schutzhülle : 69,-€

Preis TWS 1x12er Bass-Box Schutzhülle : 79,-€

Bilder, Bilder, Bilder

Sagen mehr als 1000 Worte.

bottom of page