top of page
2864-S Top Silver Front sloping
2864-S Top Stealth Front oblique

TWS 2864-S

The S-Class. The new "Standard"!

 

Based on the original 2864 (with the rare EEP-1 tube), we have further developed the circuit into a standard design which implements the outstanding sound properties with tubes that are currently available without any problems.

Just like its "big brother", the 2864-S offers an unusually clear and full clean sound. At slightly higher levels, there is an extremely harmonious transition into the crunch range. The signal remains very stable here, but begins to melt into the distortion, especially in the treble range, without losing its contour. Some describe this as exceptionally 3-dimensional... others speak of perfect resolution and string separation.

The guitarist and the connected instrument are always the center of attention!

This is enabled by the puristic circuit concept of the TWS 2864-S, in which the guitar signal only passes through as few components as absolutely necessary. The best sound is not created when you can't add anything, but when you can't leave anything out any more.

 

A pure sound that is addictive and that you will probably only find in very few amps at this level of quality!

 

In the "Silver" version, we equip the amp with a silver front panel made of matt anodized aluminum and white chickenhead knobs. In the "Stealth" version, we equip the amp with a matt black front panel made of anodized aluminum and black chickenhead knobs.

What's your style?

guitar_logo_black.png

guitar 11/2022

"The Tube WorkShop TWS 2864-S is suitable for a wide range of styles. It offers the intoxicating quality of distorting mainly in the high-mids, which is definitely a feel-good factor in the game, and completely clear in the bass frequencies and in the treble at any volume and to remain localizable. In addition, the WonderVol is probably the most exciting PPIMV concept of recent years. The quality offered here has its price, but is absolutely fine for a boutique amp from Germany. We can hardly wait for the SingleSix as well combo from TWS."

Read the full review here...

GuB_Logo_black.png

Guitar&Bass 08/2023

"With the 2864-S, Tube WorkShop presents a puristic top with a 14 watt class A/B power amplifier and a unique circuit conceptThe three-stage bass switch processes the low frequencies and can therefore also be used for tuning to the loudspeaker cabinet [...]. Treble and Master (WonderVol) work effectively and interact well with preamp (gain), so that the amp convinces with lead sounds even at bedroom level. Otherwise, the 2864-S feels most comfortable in clean to a controlled crunch range. Here it shines with clarity, directness, dynamics and sensationally low background noise. It is precisely these properties that make it the ideal pedal platform that works well with effects of all kinds. There is no question that the circuit concept, the quality of the components, the outstanding craftsmanship and, last but not least, the excellent tube sounds fully justify the price."

Quality

handmade in Germany.

Each 2864-S amp is handcrafted in Leingarten (GER) and hand-wired point-to-point with the shortest signal paths. All connections are soldered (no connectors) to permanently exclude loose contacts and contact resistance

 

The massive (2mm thick) aluminum chassis houses only hand-picked premium components and the highest quality transformers. The best is just good enough for us.

The mechanical installation of all components is completely decoupled from the electrical connections. Jacks, pots and tube sockets do not exert any forces on the electrical connections which could lead to broken solder joints over time.

 

An elegant, extremely compact housing made of solid 15mm birch multiplex gives the 2864-S not only comfortable transport dimensions but also high robustness "on the road". Of course, the housing is handcrafted in Germany.

2864-S Top Stealth open

Guitar Magazin 11/2022

"But the real amazement comes when have you a look into the amp. Cleanest execution of soldering work with extremely short signal paths and the finest caps, electrolytic capacitors and tubes is a feast for the eyes for every point-to-point wired fan."

GuB_Logo_black.png

Guitar&Bass 08/2023

"After dismantling it [...] the equally solid and flawless craftsmanship of the Tube WorkShop 2864-S top becomes very clear. [...] Disassembly takes less than a minute. [...] Everything soldered, no plug-in connections at all. [...] Makes six stars for the craftmanship!"

TWS 2864-S tone control

Tone Controls

from "Sweet" to "Aggressive".

A classic tone control circuit was dispensed in order to dampen and distort the sound as little as possible.


The amp can still be perfectly adapted to different guitar types and speaker setups via the "Treble" control located in the power amp and the adjustment in the bass range using a 3-stage switch. A tonality between "sweet" and more "aggressive" can also be called up here without any obstacles.

_guitar_logo_white.png

Guitar Magazin 11/2022

"The treble spectrum, which is so important for string separation, also remains clear and harmonious at all times. We have rarely seen anything like this before."

GuB_Logo_white.png

Guitar&Bass 08/2023

"The bass settings are not only musical, but also tasteful and practical. The treble control in the power amp shows high efficiency. [...] With the bridge HB of my Les Paul I prefer treble position 5, with the Strat it can even be a little less."

TWS WonderVol

even low volume can sound great.

Why do guitar amps always sound unspectacular at low volumes? The explanation is NOT that tube amps only sound good at higher volumes. The explanation is that at low volumes, our hearing works differently, emphasizing mid-range frequencies.

In the 2864-S we install the innovative TWS WonderVol as standard, which has an audio curve compensated volume control. For the first time, a master volume is realized which sits directly in front of the power amplifier and continuously compensates for the changes in the human hearing curve towards low volumes.
 

The sonic effect:

Even at "living room volume" the 2864-S sounds lively and full-fledged, without the well-known "nasal" sound of turned down amps...

User-friendly control range:
You will know that. Is your amp too quiet on "2"... but already too loud on "3". In contrast to traditional master volumes with only a minimal, usable range, the TWS WonderVol has a very finely resolved control path at low volumes. No adjusting with the tweezers any more!

No master volume wanted? No problem!

The TWS WonderVol is designed to become invisible to the amp when turned fully clockwise. As if it didn't even exist. So you want a classic Non-Mastervolume amp? No problem: simply turn the TWS WonderVol to "10". Done!

2864-S Top Interior_02.jpg
TWS WonderVol

Guitar Magazin 11/2022

"Sensational: WonderVol

We are particularly impressed by the behaviour of the WonderVol. TWS has made a genius move here... The WonderVol allows the volume of the amp sound to be regulated almost unchanged... Probably the most exciting PPIMV concept of the past few years."

GuB_Logo_black.png

Guitar&Bass 08/2023

"To my surprise, however, the amp also works at bedroom level if you set the master to 2 or 3. Now WonderVol shows its qualities [...]. In this way, with the preamp pot fully cranked, creamy, homogeneous and naturally distorting, sustain-rich lead sounds with a real living room level are possible!"

2864-S--Halfstack-Stealth-beauty2.jpg

Shine a light

RGB LED lighting.

Have you ever had an amp that glowed so beautifully?

The LED lighting integrated in the 2864-S not only turns your amp into a visual highlight, you can also set it in all imaginable colors to suit your personal taste.

With the supplied remote control you have full control. To do this, you simply hold the remote control in front of the sensor on the bottom left on the back and configure the lighting as you like it best.

GuB_Logo_black.png

Guitar&Bass 08/2023

"First of all, however, there is an eye-catcher because the LED bar [...] which creates pleasant, indirect lighting. Using the supplied remote control, I get in the mood with slow color changes à la Biosauna."

tolex.jpg
2864-S Top Silver Back frontal
2864-S Top Stealth Back frontal

Technical Specs

and specifics.

  • Manufactured by hand in Germany

  • Shortest signal paths. Best components. No connectors.

  • 1-channel: pedal platform amp

  • 14 watts (RMS undistorted)

  • 2x 6V6 power tubes (cathode biased)

  • 1x EF86 preamp tube

  • 1x selected 12AX7 as phase inverter

  • GZ34 rectifier tube

  • No classic tone control network in the signal path!

  • Treble control located in the power amp

  • 3-position bass switch

  • Hot/Warm switching (full power/reduced power)

  • 4/8/16 ohm speaker impedance selector switch

  • Integrated RGB lighting with remote control

  • Dimensions: WxHxD = 464 x 210 x 215 mm

  • Weight: 9.8 kg

Price

TWS 2864-S Top: RRP €2,899

Or get in touch with us personally: info(at)tube-workshop.de

2864-S Top Silver Front sloping
2864-S Top Stealth Front oblique

TWS Cabs

perfect fit and sonically matched to the TWS 2864-S amp...

Perfectly matched to the TWS 2864-S top, we offer the TWS 1x12 cabs.

 

The combination with a single TWS 1x12 results in an extremely compact, powerful and easily transportable half-stack. When using two TWS 1x12 cabs as a "full stack" you are also perfectly equipped for large stages without ever missing the sound of a classic 4x12.

The robust body of the TWS 1x12 cabinets made of 18mm pine multiplex is combined with a resonant baffle made of 12mm birch multiplex and thus enables the best possible sound even with the most compact dimensions.

Matching the 2864-S top, the TWS 1x12 cabs are available either as "Silver" or "Stealth" versions.

  • Hand built in Germany

  • Standard configuration: 1x 12" Celestion G12M Greenback speaker

  • Power handling: 25W

  • Housing made of 18 mm pine multiplex

  • Baffle made of 12 mm birch multiplex

  • Half-open back wall

  • Generous carrying handle

  • Dimensions (W x H x D): 464 x 420 x 250 mm

  • Weight: 12 kg

  • Cover: black tolex

  • Front covering: silver or black

  • Price: RRP €799

Box 1x12 silver front
Box 1x12 Black Front
GuB_Logo_black.png

Guitar&Bass 08/2023

"At just 12 kg, the compact Tube WorkShop 1x12 Cab is extremely easy to transport. [...] As with the 2864-S top, exemplary workmanship all around."

"The cabinet with its Celestion G12M Greenback convinces as a real all-rounder and despite its compact dimensions it sounds amazingly voluminous but still very tidy."

Speakers

Wanna go more individual?

Celestion G12M Greenback
Jensen Tornado Stealth
Fane Ascension
Celestion Alnico Gold

Our standard: Celestion G12M Greenback

We equip our speakers "from factory" with a Celestion G12M Greenback speaker, which offers both an excellent clean sound with lots of top-end and a great distortion sound with a wooden note.

Surcharge: Jensen Tornado Stealth 65W: 55,-€

"Best of Fender Sounds". The new Jensen Tornado combines the classic Jensen sounds with beautiful highs and relaxed mids. It remains very stable and contoured even with distorted sounds.

Surcharge: Fane Ascension A60: €125

Great, very "sweet" sounding speaker: "Jensen on Steroids"! Not made for metalheads, but a revelation for lovers of complex clean sounds.

Surcharge: Celestion Alnico Gold Speaker: €150

THE speaker when it needs to be "loud" and ruthless. Honest-sounding, high SPL... cuts through perfectly in loud bands. Both clean and distorted.

Tailored TWS Covers

keep the fun going...

TWS Protective Cases Top & Box

Of course, the best thing for your darling would be a flight case. But that's where things get big and heavy. And when you're not currently on a world tour, a good protective cover is the perfect and affordable everyday companion.

  • Handmade in Germany

  • Custom made to fit the TWS 2864-S

  • Custom made to fit the TWS 1x12 cab

  • Perfectly sewn high-quality leatherette cover with TWS-Logo

  • The protective cover is padded and splash-proof. It protects against knocks during transport and also against fading (UV protection) and dust.

  • Thanks to the neatly incorporated handle recesses, the amp and box can still be transported without any problems.

  • Price 2864-S Top protective cover: 60,-€

  • Price TWS 1x12er Cab protective cover: 65,-€

Sound Samples

let's stop talking... just listen.

Pictures, pictures, pictures

tell more than 1000 words.

bottom of page

top of page
2864-S Top Silver Front schräg
2864-S Top Stealth Front schräg

TWS 2864-S

Die S-Klasse. Der neue "Standard"!

 

Ausgehend vom originalen 2864 (mit der seltenen EEP-1 Röhre) haben wir die Schaltung zu einem Standard-Design weiterentwickelt welches die überragenden klanglichen Eigenschaften mit aktuell problemlos erhältlichen Röhren umsetzt.

 

Genau wie sein "Großer Bruder", bietet der 2864-S bietet einen ungewöhnlich klaren und vollen Clean-Sound. Bei etwas höheren Pegeln stellt sich ein extrem harmonischer Übergang in den Crunch Bereich ein. Das Signal bleibt hierbei sehr stabil, fängt aber speziell im Höhenbereich an verführerisch in die Verzerrung zu verschmelzen ohne an Kontur zu verlieren. Manche beschreiben dies als außergewöhnlich 3-Dimensional... andere sprechen von einer perfekten Auflösung und Saitentrennung.

Der Gitarrist und das angeschlossene Instrument stehen immer im Mittelpunkt!

Dies ermöglicht das puristische Schaltungskonzept des TWS 2864-S bei dem das Gitarrensignal nur so wenig Bauteile wie möglich durchquert. Bester Ton entsteht nicht wenn man nichts mehr dazupacken kann, sondern dann wenn man nichts mehr weglassen kann.

 

Ein purer Sound der süchtig macht und den man wohl nur in wenigen Amps in dieser Qualität findet!

 

In der "Silver"-Variante bestücken wir den Amp mit einer silbernen Frontplatte aus matt eloxiertem Aluminium sowie weißen Chickenhead Bedienknöpfen. In der "Stealth"-Variante bestücken wir den Amp mit einer mattschwarzen Frontplatte aus eloxiertem Aluminium sowie schwarzen Chickenhead Bedienknöpfen. Was ist Dein Style?

guitar_logo_schwarz.png

guitar 11/2022

"Der Tube WorkShop TWS 2864-S ist für verschiedenste Stilistiken geeignet. Er bietet die berauschende Eigenschaft hauptsächlich in den Hochmitten zu verzerren, was dem Spiel ja durchaus als Wohlfühlfaktor entgegenkommt, und in den Bass-Frequenzen sowie in den Höhen bei jeder Lautstärke vollkommen klar und verortbar zu bleiben. Noch dazu ist das WonderVol das wahrscheinlich spannendste PPIMV-Konzept der vergangenen Jahre. Die hier gebotene Qualität hat zwar ihren Preis, ist aber für einen Boutique-Amp aus Deutschland absolut in Ordnung. Wir können es kaum erwarten auch den SingleSix-Combo aus dem Haus TWS zu testen."

Lest hier den kompletten Testbericht...

Qualität

handmade in Germany.

Jeder 2864-S Amp wird in Handarbeit in Leingarten (D) hergestellt und mit kürzesten Signalwegen Point-to-Point handverdrahtet. Alle Verbindungen sind verlötet (keine Steckverbinder) um dauerhaft Wackelkontakte und Übergangswiderstände auszuschließen

 

Das massive (2mm starke) Aluminiumchassis beherbergt nur handverlesene Premium-Bauteile sowie hochwertigste Transformatoren. Das Beste ist uns gerade gut genug.

Die mechanische installation aller Bauelemente ist komplett entkoppelt von den elektrischen Verbindungen. Buchsen, Potis und Röhrensockel üben keinerlei Kräfte auf die elektrischen Verbindungen aus welche über die Zeit zu gebrochenen Lötstellen führen könnten.

 

Ein elegantes, extrem kompaktes Gehäuse aus massivem 15mm Birken-Multiplex beschert dem 2864-S nicht nur komfortable Transportmaße sondern auch hohe Robustheit "on the road". Natürlich wird das Gehäuse in Handarbeit in Deutschland hergestellt.

2864-S Top Stealth geöffnet

Guitar Magazin 11/2022

"Das echte Staunen kommt aber beim Blick in den Amp. Die sauberst ausgeführten Löt-Arbeiten mit extrem kurzen Signalwegen sowie edelsten Caps, Elkos und Röhren bietet eine Augenweide für jeden Point-to-Point-Wired-Fan."

TWS 2864-S Klangregelung

Klangregelung

von "Sweet" bis "Aggressiv".

Auf eine klassische Tonregelung wurde verzichtet um den Klang so wenig wie möglich zu bedämpfen und zu verfälschen.


Über den in der Endstufe angesiedelten "Treble"-Regler sowie der Anpassung im Bassbereich durch einen 3-Stufigen Schalter lässt sich der Amp dennoch hervorragend auf unterschiedliche Gitarrentypen und Lautsprecher-Setups anpassen. Auch eine Tonalität zwischen "Sweet" und eher "Aggressiv" ist hier problemlos abrufbar.

_guitar_logo_white.png

Guitar Magazin 11/2022

"Auch das für die Saitentrennung so wichtige Höhenspektrum bleibt zu jeder Zeit klar und harmonisch. Das haben wir so noch selten erlebt."

TWS WonderVol

auch leise kann gut klingen.

Warum klingen Gitarrenamps bei niedrigen Lautstärken immer unspektakulär? Die Erklärung ist NICHT dass Röhrenverstärker erst bei höheren Lautstärken gut klingen. Die Erklärung ist, dass bei niedrigen Lautstärken unser Gehör anders funktioniert und mittige Frequenzen betont.

Im 2864-S verbauen wir serienmäßig das innovative TWS WonderVol, welches über eine hörkurvenkompensierte Lautstärkeregelung verfügt. Hiermit wird erstmals ein Master-Volume realisiert welches direkt vor der Endstufe sitzt und kontinuierlich hin zu niedrigen Lautstärken die Veränderungen in der menschlichen Hörkurve ausgleicht.
 

Der klangliche Effekt:

Auch bei "Wohnzimmer-Lautstärke" klingt der 2864-S lebendig und vollwertig, ohne den bekannten "nasalen" Klang von heruntergeregelten Amps...

Praxistauglicher Regelweg:
Du kennst das? Auf "2" ist Dein Amp zu leise... auf "3" schon zu laut"? Im Gegensatz zu traditionellen Master-Volumes mit nur einem minimalen, praxistauglichen Regelweg verfügt das TWS WonderVol über einen sehr fein aufgelösten Regelweg bei niedrigen Lautstärken. Kein Einstellen mit der Pinzette mehr!

Kein Mastervolume erwünscht? Kein Problem!

Das TWS WonderVol ist so entworfen, dass es auf "Rechtsanschlag" für den Amp unsichtbar wird. Als ob es gar nicht vorhanden wäre. Du möchtest also einen klassischen Non-Mastervolume-Amp? Kein Problem: Dreh Das TWS WonderVol einfach auf "10". Done!

2864-S Top Innenleben_02.jpg
TWS WonderVol

Guitar Magazin 11/2022

"Sensationell: WonderVol

Besonders begeistert uns das Verhalten des WonderVol. Denn hier ist TWS ein echter Geniestreich gelungen... Das WonderVol lässt den Amp-Sound nahezu unverändert in der Lautstärke regulieren... Wahrscheinlich das spannendste PPIMV-Konzept der vergangenen Jahre."

2864-S--Halfstack-Stealth-beauty2.jpg

Shine a light

RGB Led Beleuchtung.

Hattest Du jemals einen Amp der so schön geleuchtet hat?

Die im 2864-S integrierte LED Beleuchtung lässt Deinen Amp nicht nur zum optischen Highlight werden, sie kann von Dir auch in allen erdenklichen Farben auf Deinen persönlichen Geschmack eingestellt werden.

Mit der mitgelieferten Fernbedienung hast Du die volle Kontrolle. Hierzu hältst Du die Fernbedienung einfach vor den Sensor der sich unten/links auf der Rückseite befindet und konfigurierst die Beleuchtung so wie es Dir am Besten gefällt.

tolex.jpg
2864-S Top Silver Back frontal
2864-S Top Stealth Back frontal

Technische Daten

und Besonderheiten.

  • Hergestellt in Handarbeit in Deutschland

  • Kürzeste Signalwege. Beste Komponenten. Keine Steckverbinder.

  • 1-Kanalig: Pedal Plattform Amp

  • 14 Watt (RMS unverzerrt)

  • 2x 6V6 Endstufenröhren (Cathode Biased)

  • 1x EF86 Vorstufenröhre

  • 1x selektierte 12AX7 als Phase Inverter

  • GZ34 Gleichrichterröhre

  • Kein klassisches Tonregelnetzwerk im Signalweg!

  • In der Endstufe angesiedelter Treble-Regler

  • 3-Position Bass Schalter

  • Hot/Warm Umschaltung (volle Leistung/reduzierte Leistung)

  • 4/8/16 Ohm Speaker Impedanzwahlschalter

  • Abmessungen: BxHxT = 464 x 210 x 215 mm

  • Integrierte RGB-Beleuchtung mit Fernbedienung

Preis

TWS 2864-S Topteil: 2.599,-€

 

Oder setze Dich persönlich mit uns in Verbindung:

info(at)tube-workshop.de

2864-S Top Silver Front schräg
2864-S Top Stealth Front schräg

TWS-Boxen

perfekt passend und auf das TWS 2864-S Topteil abgestimmt...

Perfekt auf das TWS 2864-S Topteil abgestimmt, bieten wir die TWS 1x12er Cabs an.

 

Die Kombination mit einer einzelnen TWS 1x12 ergibt ein extrem kompaktes, schlagfähiges und leicht transportables Half-Stack. Bei der Verwendung von zwei TWS 1x12er Cabs als "Full-Stack" ist man auch für große Bühnen perfekt gerüstet ohne jemals den Sound einer klassischen 4x12er zu vermissen..

Der robuste Korpus der TWS 1x12 Cabinets aus 18mm Kiefermultiplex wird kombiniert mit einer resonanten Schallwand aus 12mm Birkenmultiplex und ermöglicht damit auch bei kompaktesten Abmessungen einen größtmöglichen Sound.

Passend zum 2864-S Topteil sind die TWS 1x12er Cabs entweder als "Silver" oder "Stealth" Variante erhältlich.

  • Handbuilt in Germany

  • Standardbestückung: 1x 12" Celestion G12M Greenback Speaker

  • Belastbarkeit: 25 W

  • Gehäuse aus 18 mm Kiefer-Multiplex

  • Schallwand aus 12 mm Birken-Multiplex

  • Halboffene Rückwand

  • Großzügiger Tragegriff

  • Abmessungen (B x H x T): 464x 420 x 250 mm

  • Bezug: schwarzes Tolex

  • Frontbespannung: silber oder schwarz

  • Preis: 749,-€

Box 1x12 Silver Front
Box 1x12 Black Front

Speaker

wenns individueller sein soll...

Celestion G12M Greenback
Jensen Tornado Stealth
Fane Ascension
Celestion Alnico Gold

Unser Standard: Celestion G12M Greenback

"Ab Werk" bestücken wir unsere Boxen mit einem Celestion G12M Greenback Speaker der sowohl einen hervorragenden Clean-Sound mit viel Top-End bietet, als auch einen tollen Distortion-Sound mit einer hölzernen Note.

Aufpreis: Jensen Tornado Stealth 65W: 55,-€

"Best of Fender Sounds". Der neuartige Jensen Tornado vereinigt die klassischen Jensen Sounds in sich mit schönen Höhen und entspannten Mitten. Dabei bleibt er auch bei verzerrten Sounds sehr stabil und konturiert.

Aufpreis: Fane Ascension A60: 125,-€

Toller, extrem "sweet" klingender Speaker: "Jensen on Steroids"! Nichts für Metallheads, aber eine Offenbarung für Liebhaber komplexer Clean-Sounds.

Aufpreis: Celestion Alnico Gold Speaker: 150,-€

DER Speaker wenn es "laut" und schonungslos sein soll. Ehrlich, hoher Schalldruck... setzt sich perfekt in lauten Bands durch. Sowohl clean als auch verzerrt.

Maßgeschneiderte TWS-Schutzhüllen

damit der Spaß lange hält...

TWS Schutzhüllen Top & Box

Das Beste für Deinen Liebling wäre natürlich ein Flightcase. Da wird die Sache aber meist groß und schwer. Und wenn man nicht gerade auf Welt-Tournee ist, dann ist eine gute Schutzhülle der perfekte und erschwingliche Begleiter im Alltag.

  • Handmade in Germany

  • Maßgeschneidert passend für den TWS 2864-S

  • Maßgeschneidert passend für die TWS 1x12 Box

  • Perfekt vernähter Kunstleder-Schutzbezug in Lederoptik mit aufgenähtem TWS-Logo

  • Die Schutzhülle ist gepolstert und spritzwassergeschützt. Sie schützt vor Schlägen beim Transport und auch vor Ausbleichen (UV-Schutz) und Staub.

  • Durch die sauber eingearbeiteten Griffaussparungen können Amp und Box weiterhin problemlos transportiert werden.

  • Preis 2864-S Topteil Schutzhülle : 60,-€

  • Preis TWS 1x12er Box Schutzhülle : 65,-€

Klangbeispiele

wir können ja viel schreiben...

Bilder, Bilder, Bilder

Sagen mehr als 1000 Worte.

bottom of page